Fun Monday–five years ago today…

2005 calendarMariposa asks what we did five years ago today.

Might as well ask what I did five centuries ago. I’ve been trying to remember and honestly can’t think of anything unusual. Just going to work, coming home, getting online, and going to bed.

This was probably the final year that my workplace was within walking distance from where I live. The morning walk was only a couple of blocks, but I enjoyed it. I also enjoyed the money I saved from not having to buy so much gas for the car. Often, I would go home for lunch as well. It was a good way to check on Mom, pick up the mail, and get away for a bit. Now, I drive. It takes about 20 minutes if I don’t stop and the weather is dry. At night, about a half-hour non-stop. I don’t even want to think about the winter yet.

Major vacations were still a few years away. Northern California happened in 2007, London in 2008, and a short visit to New York state happened at the beginning of the month.  I don’t recall major catastrophes in 2005, which is as well. Sometimes the best you can hope for is to keep on keeping on.

2 responses to “Fun Monday–five years ago today…

  1. I had been drawing a blank… but your “major catastrophies” did trigger something. I live in Florida and that was the Year of the Hurricanes! Lots of hurricanes – hitting Florida! Since we were still in our mobile home, we spent much of the season evacuating to my parents’ farm. It did get old! We were lucky though – no damage to us or our home.

Leave a Reply

