Fun Monday–the colors of your life…

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Today’s Fun Monday theme is all about color.

Would you be surprised to learn that the fashion colors for each season are planned in advance? All those variations on blues and greens and pinks and browns and purples meant to tempt us to redo our entire wardrobe don’t just happen. It doesn’t matter what they call the colors this year–I still end up buying the same blacks, pinks, blues, browns, purples I did the year before.

Some odds and ends about color:

There is a group on Facebook called “I am wearing black until there is something darker.”

I have no idea what my color season is. Nor do I care. I wear what I want, when I want to wear it.

My mother feels strange about wearing color, conspicuous. One year for Christmas all of us kids got together and bought her a beautiful red wool coat with a black fake fur collar. She looked wonderful in it–the collar was soft and warm, the red suited her complexion. Yet, even though she wore the coat because we got it for her, she always felt strange, like other people were staring at her.  It’s only been in the last decade or so that she’s finally become accustomed to color and pattern. It was a standing joke that all her blouses with flowers and patterns came from one of us as a gift–she would have been very much at home at “I am wearing black until there is something darker.”

To some extent, we all inherited a bit of that. I love black, and am very comfortable dressing like Johnny Cash for days. But I also embrace color and pattern, especially bright pink, turquoise blue, and purple. Even my younger sister still has her uniform of choice–jeans and a black t-shirt.

Still, a world with no color at all would be a limited one, a bit like the one depicted in the movie Pleasantville. Two contemporary teenagers are spirited into a 1950s sit-com, where the characters literally see things and live life in black and white. When the modern teenagers inadvertently bring color into the sit-com world, life is no longer so simple, but it becomes more interesting.

Check out Mariposa’s blog to see who else is posting about color in the world.

4 responses to “Fun Monday–the colors of your life…

  1. Love your ‘take’ on colours! You’ve reminded me of the black and white ‘pop art’ trend that was fashionable for part of the 60s. Also, that at the beginning of the 20th century, so I’m told, it was still common for women to wear black once they reached 30,
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. That’s pretty funny – but I think color does draw attention. Just yesterday I was in the grocery store and this girl came around the corner in a full-length, bright yellow sundress. I kid you not, every single person in that aisle stopped what they were doing and looked up at her for a moment before going on with whatever they were doing. That included me. Color – especially one that’s not common – DOES draw attentnion.

    I loved “Pleasantville”!

Leave a Reply

