Fun Monday… shoes, shoes, shoes!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

It’s Fun Monday again, and the subject is “your favorite shoes.”I have had a love-hate relationship with shoes forever. Mostly, I tolerate them. I would rather go barefoot and would love to live in a climate where I could do so year-round. Most shoes are narrow and tight–little prisons for my wide, oddly shaped feet.

As for high heels–forget it! My back protests whenever I wear something with a heel higher than an inch or so. Result–most of my shoes are wide and flat. Gone are the days when my favorite pair of shoes was a white platform sandal with a three-inch heel. I buy for comfort, not for looks.

My favorite shoes are Birkenstocks. I still wear my first pair, which I purchased almost 15 years ago. Here they are straddling two states on the Bob Kerrey Pedestrian Bridge:

My old Berkies, still going strong

My favorite shoes on the Bob Kerrey Pedestrian Bridge

These Birkies have gone to music festivals, vacations, stayed home. In fall I wear them with socks, fashion no-no or not. I have four other pairs of Birkies, and I love them all. They really do mold to fit the shape of your foot, and if I have to wear shoes, those are what I’d rather wear. The only place my Birkies don’t go is work–not allowed there.

For work, I have a couple of pairs of Clarks (a sandal and a loafer), a pair of Earth Shoes, and I’m always on the lookout for another comfortable shoe for work. Or a job where I would be allowed to go barefoot.

Check out Mariposa’s Tales and see who else has a shoe story!

3 responses to “Fun Monday… shoes, shoes, shoes!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Fun Monday… shoes, shoes, shoes! | C is for Cynicalgirl -- Topsy.com

  2. It sounds like you and I have the same feet. I’m mostly barefoot, but my shoes are either flipflops or running shoes. But not just any running shoes. See my blog for more!

Leave a Reply

