Fun Monday–give, give, give

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Sayre of Sayre Smiles asks:

How will you express your inner-Giver this season? Do you donate to a major charity? Do you serve food in a soup kitchen? Is your generosity something private that you do without recognition or do you hand the guy on the corner a dollar whenever you drive by?

Not only do I want to know what you do, but how you do it, why you do it, and a story about your activity and how it made you feel.

As far as money goes, my tendency is to slip something in the Salvation Army kettle or the jars for various charities you see on checkout counters in stores.  Little things do add up.

My main way of giving is something I’ve done for years–I give blood. With the standards for giving blood becoming stronger than ever, what I can give helps all the more. And I feel better for doing it, both mentally and physically.

How many lives have I saved? I have no idea. Even if it’s just one, it’s worth it.

Go visit Sayre Smiles and see who else is playing today.

10 responses to “Fun Monday–give, give, give

  1. Yay! A blood donor! I wish I could still do that. I did it for years as often as allowed. My own health issues put an end to that, but I still feel a tug whenever I see the blood mobile around town.

    The gift of life is a marvelous gift indeed!

  2. To donate blood is a wonderful worth while cause…bravo to you. You just may have saved some lives… what a great feeling that is. Thanks for sharing and happy FM

  3. I bet you’ve saved more than one life and that’s so admirable, it’s something I’ve always wanted to do but after being rejected by them for my dodgy veins I’ve never been able to but I really admire those who give regularly.

    Great post, looking forward to your FM challenge next week.

  4. You’re right about the satisfaction you get from donating blood, CG. I started donating when a friend needed blood when she was undergoing bone marrow replacement and other cancer treatments. She was so concerned about where the blood was coming from. Comforted her to know who her donors were. Now it’s no problem to take a book and go by the Red Cross and let them siphon off a pint!

Leave a Reply

