thankful…

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Wendishness this week would love to know what we are thankful for. Thursday is Thanksgiving here in the US, but gratitude is universal.

I’m very much thankful that I have a job. A lot of people aren’t that fortunate right now. Yes, it’s not what I thought I would be doing, and I’d love to be making more money, but I’m happy to have somewhere to be five days a week, with the flexibility I need to take my mother to appointments and so on.  We have a roof over our heads, food, transportation, and the ability to have some fun sometimes.

I’m thankful for the internet and its ability to take me around the world. I met lots of wonderful people and have learned a lot. It’s hard to imagine life without it. Not to mention a couple of vacations through the years I might not have taken if it wasn’t for the prospect of meeting online pals face-to-face.

Family, love, and friends… all the good things in life.

And what would Thanksgiving be without a little Alice’s Restaurant? A less humorous one, no doubt!

Visit Wendishness and see who else is thankful this week.

 

9 responses to “thankful…

  1. Good point…so many are without, or have little in the way of job security too.

    YAY for the internet, imagine all the wonderful people we’d never have met if we didn’t have it? Great post, thanks for joining in 🙂

  2. I imagine that food pantries, angel trees, and coats for kids’ groups are going to be overwhelmed with people asking for help this year. I’m glad you have a job and are able to have flex time as well, that’s always nice. I signed up late, please drop by and visit, and if you have a couple of seconds, scroll to the post below and vote on my project!

  3. You do have many blessings in your life. I also love the internet…I have met so many lovely people like yourself. Thanks for sharing and Happy Thanksgiving to you n yours.

  4. I was thinking about what a miracle the internet was this morning! That without it, I wouldn’t know so many wonderful people world-wide and what a blessing it is to have them in my life.

  5. We’re on the same wavelength, Cynicalgirl. It’s no small thing to feel relatively secure in these hard financial times. You may not have your dream job, but at least it enables you to take care of yourself and your loved ones. As for the internet, I never understood what a wonderful tool it is for keeping you connected with the world until I retired. Now it’s a big part of my life.

    I hope you get to enjoy a few days of R & R for Thanksgiving. I’m trying to decide what my Alice’s Restaurant is going to be. Probably NCIS re-runs. 🙂

  6. I am loving how different everyones lists are. I guess I should be thankful that I don’t need to find a job. I have been out of the work force for 19 years now. I guess it would not be so easy for me to get back into it.

  7. Hello, Cynicalgirl! I have been out of the FM loop for a while, and I’m excited that there are some new faces and places to visit! I totally hear you about being grateful for employment. I’m with you – I’m not doing the sort of work I thought I would be doing, but so far so good *fingers crossed* and I think I’m good at what I’m doing. I guess it’s all part of the crazy journey life takes us on 🙂

    Anyway – nice to meet you, and thank you for visiting!!

  8. I very much agree with you ! Internet has changed my life completely, especially because I am retired, what would I do the whole day ??? My screen is my window to the world !

Leave a Reply

