fun Monday… the oldest thing I possess (sort of)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Ari_1965 of Beyond My Slab wants to know:

What is the oldest possession in your house or flat? Describe it or show us a picture. Where did it come from? Why do you hang on to it?

There are a few things in my life I’ve had a long time. Books I received as a child, a bracelet that I got as a gift for First Communion. Things that come and go, end up in storage, things that got lost in the shuffle of a few moves.

The oldest item in my apartment belongs to me, and yet it doesn’t. It has been a part of my life my entire life, and has never been away even when not with me. A source of unfailing support, comfort, and love since the day I was born. Without her, I wouldn’t be who I am now.

Of course, I’m talking about my mother, who is 81 now. She has lived with me for the last several years, and it would be hard to imagine life without her, though one day I must.  Her mind is fairly sharp, even though she worries about forgetting things. Right now, she’s learning how to use a computer. The mysteries of the internet and email are all new to her. It’s not easy, but she’s hanging in there. It’s a little odd to teach the one who taught me, take care of the one who took care of me as a child. But there it is.

mom_2009

Possess her like a book or a knick-knack? No, not really. She’s my mother, a part of me, a part of my own life.

24 responses to “fun Monday… the oldest thing I possess (sort of)

  1. She doesn’t look 81, she’s doing well and as I said before it’s great that she’s embracing the internet, even if it’s baby steps. You should look up the oldest blogger and the oldest twitterer, they make your mom look young!

    • I should. My mother is just a kid… the women on her side of the family tend to live long lives. My grandmother was 93 when she died, and my Aunt Mary who just died was 87 or 88. I joke with Mom that I figure I have at least 20 more years to put up with her, but whatever time left is a good thing.

  2. You are so lucky to have your Mom…I lost mine 10 years ago. She looks young for her age…that is so cool that she is learning how to use the computer n internet. Thanks for sharing and Happy FM

  3. Wow, your mom looks great for 81! I never would have guessed.

    My grandmother bought herself a Mac and learned how to use it at age 82. She had a blast with it until she died.

  4. Your mom looks like she has so much spirit–and bully for her to be willing to tackle all the new technology. If I could wish for anything in my older years it would be to keep my mind sharp. How lucky you are to have such a good relationship with your mother even though your roles have changed with you being the caregiver now. I wish I handled my caregiving responsibilities as well as you obviously do.

    P.S. Is your mother carrying a Baggallini purse? It looks exactly like the one I carry every day.

    • The purse is not a Baggallini, though it does look like one.

      I’m glad I have a good relationship with Mom, too, since we live together. I know the day will come when my caregiving abilities will be put to the test, but I’m glad that time isn’t here yet.

  5. I think your mum is great to be learning to use the computer. My mother will be 86 in Dec. but she is hopeless with technology and even has trouble with the TV remote control.

    • I think she feels that if she doesn’t use her mind she’ll lose it. It’s a challenge for her, for sure! A bit frustrating for her because she remembers when she was younger and learned things quicker, but she’s not giving up. I’m proud of her.

  6. Your story about you and your mom is just lovely, and I appreciate you sharing it with us. How wonderful to have such longevity in your relationship (my mom passed away at 56). And learning to use the computer at 81–how spirited and and terrific is that!!

Leave a Reply

